Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Tough Publishing Schedule



Tough Publishing Schedule 2017


New occasional reviews beginning June 5th, 2017; new fiction every Monday beginning July 3rd, 2017. Remember too, we're always looking for more submissions: toughcrime@gmail.com.

Reviews:

Hardboiled, Noir and Gold Medals by Rick Ollerman--reviewed by Rusty Barnes
The Neon Lights Are Veins by Nolan Knight--reviewed by James Pate
Shank by Roy Harper--reviewed by David Nemeth
A Brutal Bunch of Heartbroken Saps by Nick Kolakowski--reviewed by John Stickney
Bad Luck City by Matt Phillips--reviewed by Heather Luby

Fiction:

July 2017

7/3 JM Taylor
7/10 Preston Lang
7/17 Tony Tremblay
7/24 Michael Bracken
7/31 Jim Chandler

August 2017

8/7 Jim Valvis
8/14 Matthew Lyons
8/21 David Rachels
8/28 Morgan Boyd

September 2017

9/4 Marie Crosswell
9/11 Greg Barth
9/18 Eve Fisher
9/25 Michael Bracken

October 2017

10/2 Tom Barlow

Sunday, March 12, 2017

More About Book Reviews

I've noticed in the unsolicited book reviews I've been getting for Tough is that the writing in general is good, and the reviewer's chosen good material for review, but the tone is more akin to a lengthy Amazon review. I'm looking for a more formal tone, generally third person, not stuffy, but focused, written by people who've engaged with the crime and literary worlds in their review by referencing other work in the genre(s) and demonstrating at least some familiarity with the current crime fiction scene. I'll be posting new reviews of my own as well as by other writers soon, ahead of the journal's actual debut, so I can lead by example, so to speak, which will help. Stay tuned to this space.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Reviews and Reviewers Needed

Hi folks. Tough's first month of fiction is nearly complete, with three stories in the hopper. On the last Monday of July, I'd like to run a review of a forthcoming or recently published--within the last six months or so--crime book, especially a small press crime novel or story collection. We pay writers $25 for a review of under a thousand words. This review would not be posted until the last Monday of July 2017, so you have some time. Hit me up at toughcrime@gmail.com with queries or to find out what advance copies I have on hand for which I'd like reviews written.
Thanks in advance--
Rusty

Friday, January 20, 2017

Introductions

Hi. I'm Rusty Barnes, crime writer and proprietor of this new blogazine of crime stories and occasional reviews: Tough. By way of bona fides, I edited, and still oversee, the journal Fried Chicken and Coffee, and I cofounded and edited the literary journal Night Train for over ten years. You can also view my site if you'd like to know more about me.

I hope to publish new crime stories and highlight crime novels as well as story collections published by the small press via occasional reviews. However, I won't rule out reviewing something from the Big Five if it fits within my--admittedly broad--guidelines. We pay for stories and reviews. Not much, I know, but something. See the submissions page for details.

Tough will debut in July 2017. You can email me at toughcrime@gmail.com with queries or anything else you want to know about the project. I know the site looks rough. It'll get better.

Thanks for stopping by.